Would Be Review: Mint 5 Elyssa


I wish I could really write a lovely post of Mint.  As a fact, I’ve been a big fan of Mint since I first discovered it whilst browsing Distrowatch.  Mint 4 installed without any issues on my laptop.  I tried out a beta and RC versions of Mint 5 without success.  Mint 5 boots to a console and my post on the Linux Mint Forums has yet to yield help.

So…  when will help arrive?

If you have suggestions on how to fix this problem, let me know, please.

P.S.  Did I mention that the LiveCD work perfectly?

3 responses to “Would Be Review: Mint 5 Elyssa

  • Brad J

    I have the same problem on my desktop
    Athlon 2100+ 1GB RAM
    Asus A7N8X mainboard
    Nvidia graphics

    I am wondering if this is because my partitions are weird, I have 4 hard disks and 2 are SATA. Also my main drive (SATA) already has a Linux partition on it. I even had to install grub stage 1 manually to get it to install propely.

  • muddygeek

    That’s an interesting idea for me to try out. When I installed Mint 5, I already had partitions setup with Suse, Ubuntu, and Mint 4. I haven’t tried it with just Mint 5. It may be worth a shot though.

  • Review: Mint 5 Elyssa « Muddy Geek

    […] | Mint 5 actually works for me now…just not on the machine I wanted it to.  I had posted before about installing and using Mint 5 on my laptop test machine.  Shall we just say that failed?  This […]

Leave a Reply

