Microbes Make Faster Hydrogen


Penn State researchers have developed a way to convert waste water into hydrogen more efficiently and faster through the use of microbes. Hydrogen has continued to be viewed as the wonder fuel but many are extremely critical due to the process it takes to make it and then the safety of storing it. Of course, everyone cites a single blimp crashing and burning (ie, the Hindenburg). While I admit I don’t want my car to be a giant ball of fire in an accident, it can also happen with gasoline (though gas isn’t as volatile, its bad enough).

I personally would love my car to emit water when I drive. I’d feel pretty good about myself and the environment.

Biohydrogen

The National Science Foundation reports on this and Penn State also had a press release available.

2 responses to “Microbes Make Faster Hydrogen

  • Dale Kaup

    Firstly, gas is way more dangerous than hydrogen. Volatile just means it converts to a gas easily so water is more volatile than dynamite in that sense so yes hydrogen is more volatile than gasoline.

    Secondly, the Hindenburg burned due to it’s powdered aluminum coating (aluminum is explosive in some forms) and also was waterproofed with a flammable petroleum distillate and the sections were not properly electrically connected to one another in a way that allowed the drop lines to ground the whole airship. A little known fact is that in that time airships had a better safety record than airplanes.

    We are cavalier in our handling of gasoline and the hydrogen tanks will be many times safer. I don’t fear hydrogen in the least.

  • muddygeek

    Thanks for the correction on the safety of hydrogen.

    My point on the Hindenburg is that the common person looks at that and the hydrogen involved, making the assumption that the hydrogen was to blame. I readily admit I didn’t know about the aluminum and petroleum distillates.

    I agree hat hydrogen is a good solution and I’m not that worried about it either. We definitely need a better solution than our fossil fuels.

Leave a Reply

